Caldwell Chooses McGrath and McConnell in State Primary

Caldwell County voters followed along with the state’s overall choice by selecting Democrat Amy McGrath to take on Republican incumbent U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell.

According to County Clerk Toni Watson’s office McGrath received 834 votes with Charles Booker acquiring only 445 votes in a race that wasn’t quite as tight as the statewide competition. McConnell gathered 894 votes easily taking the county and edging out the closest finisher, C. Wesley Morgan, who received 65 votes.

In the Republican Presidential primary incumbent Donald Trump received overwhelming support in Caldwell County garnering 994 votes. As for the Democratic Presidential primary race former Vice President Joe Biden received 873 votes, however, 423 Caldwell Democratic voters indicated they were uncommitted in their decision.

Chris McNeil barely scrapped a win in Caldwell for the First District Kentucky Court of Appeals race with 834 votes with Judge Renee Williams close at his heals with 800 votes. Jenny Hines came in third with 694 votes while Jason Coltharp received 185. Official results for the entire first district have yet to be announced.

The clerk’s office reports 2,900 of just over 10,000 registered voters, or around 30 percent, turned out to vote for the primary, either through absentee ballot, early voting, or in-person voting on Election Day.